A Quick Update

I have developed a more structured plan, of sorts. Instead of launching straight into The Lord of the Rings, (as I’ve already iterated) I’ll be doing some reviews. I’ve already started with some notes on American Gods, of course. Over the course of the next few weeks I hope to review the following books in this order:

Vladimir Nabokov, Lolita: A novel of lust and twistedness

Roberto Calasso, K. Looks at the works of Franz Kafka

James Wood, How Fiction Words: Examines the theories behind writing a good book

Terry Eagleton, Reason, Faith and Revolution: Takes a look at the contemporary God Debate

I will also write a couple of reviews on books that I’ve previously read, including Ursula le Guin, The Left Hand of Darkness and The Dispossessed, as well as Cormac McCarthy, The Road. Then, perhaps, we’ll be ready to move onto Tolkien’s The Lord of the Rings in depth. Coming up: American Gods Part II, and a special treat. My buddy Henry has just read The Hobbit, so he’s gonna post his own (dare I say very entertaining and funny) review of it in anticipation of The Lord of the Rings later on. He’s gonna read along with LOTR as well so as to contribute. Should be fun!

Leave a Reply

