Julia’s Kitchen

A quick detour: During my camping adventure (recounted on the “Travels and Friends” page) I received a belated birthday present from my parents. I was very pleased to be given a brand new copy of Julia Child’s famous cook book Mastering the Art of French Cooking, which I was keen to get my hands onto after having recently viewed the fantastic and funny film Julie and Julia, starring the ever versatile Meryl Streep.

And it’s a fantastic book as well; not only is it fully of delicious and authentic French recipes (Cooking is another of my passions), it is also brilliantly and comically written, a pleasure just to sit down and read. It is an absolute must have for any lover (like me) of French gastronomy, and a fantastic place to start for any who wish to indulge in the exact art of French cuisine! My first project: Potato and Leek soup. Wish me luck!

Next up, I will be posting about either Nabokov’s Lolita or Roberto Calasso’s exegesis on Kafka. Depends which I complete first.  Henry’s Hobbit review is forthcoming as well. I look forward to reading it. 🙂

3 thoughts on “Julia’s Kitchen

  1. lachness says:

    Ooooh! I just watched that movie, it was fantastic though had me hankering for butter…Good to know that the recipe book is just as funny and delightful as the movie…shall have to look into it though my culinary skills are to the point…well let’s jsut say I melted the rice cooker in the microwave….room for improvement!

  2. Haha well I just finished making the soup and it turned out pretty nice. She provides comprehensive instructions which are often really funny to read as well.

  3. thanks for stopping by–I see a lot of Tolkien related things in the side bar that I’ll have to come back and spend some time browsing through. Looks like a great blog site.

Leave a Reply

